San Jose, Costa Rica – Program Calendars

Please be advised that program dates are subject to change without prior notice. Although date changes are rare, they are typically changes made by the host institution and are, therefore, entirely out of ASA’s control. If any changes whatsoever are made to your program dates, ASA is not responsible for any fees or losses associated with changing/canceling your plane ticket, the cost of additional lodging, etc.

Please do not book a plane ticket until you are accepted to an ASA program and receive written notification of your program’s arrival and departure dates.

 

Spring Semester 2019

Events Dates
Arrival and Housing Move-in In order to make our group airport pick-up, students should arrive at San José (SJO) airport on Wed, Jan. 9, 2019 before 4pm
Orientation Thurs, Jan. 10, 2019 – Fri, Jan. 11, 2019
Classes begin Mon, Jan. 14, 2019
Overnight excursion to La Flor and Guayabo Fri, Feb. 8, 2019 – Sat, Feb. 9, 2019
Overnight excursion (location TBA) Thurs, Feb. 28, 2019 – Sun, March 3, 2019
Last day of final exams Fri, April 5, 2019
Housing move-out; students depart Sat, April 6, 2019

 

Winter Quarter 2019

Events Dates
Arrival and Housing Move-in In order to make our group airport pick-up, students should arrive at San José (SJO) airport on Thurs, Jan. 3, 2019 before 4pm
Orientation Fri, Jan. 4, 2019 – Sat, Jan. 5, 2019
Classes begin Mon, Jan. 7, 2019
Overnight excursion to Grecia and Alajuela Fri, Feb. 15, 2019 – Sat, Feb. 16, 2019
Overnight excursion (location TBA) Thurs, Feb. 28, 2019 – Sun, March 3, 2019
Last day of final exams Fri, March 15, 2019
Housing move-out; students depart Sat, March 16, 2019

 

Spring Quarter 2019

Events Dates
Arrival and Housing Move-in In order to make our group airport pick-up, students should arrive at San José (SJO) airport on Thurs, March 28, 2019, before 4pm
Orientation Fri, March 29, 2019
Classes begin Mon, April 1, 2019
Easter Break (no classes) Mon, April 15, 2019 – Fri, April 19, 2019
Overnight excursion (location TBA) Fri, May 10, 2019 – Sun, May 12, 2019
Overnight excursion (location TBA) Fri, May 31, 2019 – Sun, June 2, 2019
Last day of final exams Thurs, June 6, 2019
Farewell Activity Fri, June 7, 2019
Housing move-out; students depart Sat, June 8, 2019

 

Summer I 2019 – Spanish and Sustainability Practice in Costa Rica

Events Dates
Arrival and Housing Move-in In order to make our group airport pick-up, students should arrive at San José (SJO) airport on Sun, May 19, 2019, before 4pm
Orientation Mon, May 20, 2019
Begin Spanish classes and urban community work experience in San José Mon, May 20, 2019
Last day of Spanish classes and community work experience in San José Fri, June 7, 2019
Transfer to Finca La Flor; begin Sustainability course and farm work Sun, June 9, 2019
Last day of Sustainability course and farm work at Finca la Flor Tues, June 25, 2019
Overnight excursion to Central Pacific and Punta Leona Wed, June 26, 2019 – Thurs, June 27, 2019
Farewell Activity in San José Fri, June 28, 2019
Housing move-out; students depart Sat, June 29, 2019

 

Summer II 2019 – Spanish and Health in Latin America

Events Dates
Arrival and Housing Move-in In order to make our group airport pick-up, students should arrive at San José (SJO) airport on Thurs, June 27, 2019, before 4pm
Orientation Fri, June 28, 2019
Classes begin Mon, July 1, 2019
Overnight excursion to La Flor and Tapantí Fri, July 12, 2019 – Sat, July 13, 2019
Overnight excursion to Grecia Fri, July 26, 2019 – Sat, July 27, 2019
Last day of final exams and farewell activity Thurs, Aug. 8, 2019
Housing move-out; students depart Fri, Aug. 9, 2019

 

Fall Semester 2019

Events Dates
Arrival and Housing Move-in In order to make our group airport pick-up, students should arrive at San José (SJO) airport on Wed, Aug. 21, 2019 before 4pm
Orientation Thurs, Aug. 22, 2019 – Fri, Aug. 23, 2019
Classes begin Mon, Aug. 26, 2019
Overnight excursion to La Flor and Guayabo Fri, Sept. 20, 2019 – Sat, Sept. 21, 2019
Overnight excursion (location TBA) Thurs, Oct. 24,. 2019 – Sun, Oct. 27, 2019
Final exams Mon, Nov. 11, 2019 – Fri, Nov. 15, 2019
Farewell Activity Fri, Nov. 15, 2019
Housing move-out; students depart Sat, Nov. 16, 2019